Texas: 7 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

    Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service photo by Kathleen Phillips

    This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

    Impacted Area: Texas

    Triggering Disaster: Drought

    Application Deadline: Jan. 3, 2023

    Primary Counties Eligible:


    DeWitt Freestone Guadalupe Newton
    Falls Gonzales Limestone

    Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:


    Anderson Goliad Lavaca Orange
    Bell Hays Leon Robertson
    Bexar Henderson McLennan Sabine
    Caldwell Hill Milam Victoria
    Comal Jasper Navarro Wilson
    Fayette Karnes

    Contiguous Parishes Also Eligible:

    Louisiana: Beauregard, Calcasieu, Sabine and Vernon

    More Resources

    On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

    View All Events

    Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

    View All Events