Nebraska: 10 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

    Field of early-planted corn that burned up due to drought conditions during early season. Photo: Strahinja Stepanovic, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

    This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

    Impacted Area: Nebraska

    Triggering Disaster: Drought

    Application Deadline: Dec. 22, 2022

    Primary Counties Eligible:

    Boyd Buffalo Frontier Gosper Lincoln
    Brown Dawson Furnas Keya Paha Rock

    Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:


    Adams Harlan Kearney McPherson
    Blaine Hayes Keith Perkins
    Cherry Hitchcock Knox Phelps
    Custer Holt Logan Red Willow
    Hall Howard Loup Sherman

    Kansas: Decatur and Norton

    South Dakota: Charles Mix, Gregory, Todd and Tripp

    More Resources

    On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    Send press releases to

    View All Events