Kansas: 8 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

    This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

    Impacted Area: Kansas

    Triggering Disaster: Drought

    Application Deadline: Dec. 22, 2022

    Primary Counties Eligible:

    Gove Hodgeman McPherson Saline
    Graham Kingman Ness Trego

    Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:


    Barber Gray Norton Rooks
    Dickinson Harper Ottawa Rush
    Edwards Harvey Pawnee Scott
    Ellis Lane Phillips Sedgwick
    Ellsworth Lincoln Pratt Sheridan
    Finney Logan Reno Sumner
    Ford Marion Rice Thomas

    More Resources

    On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

    View All Events

    Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

    View All Events