South Dakota: 7 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: South Dakota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 16, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Haakon Jackson Lake Moody
Hand Jones Mellette

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:
South Dakota:

Beadle Jerauld Oglala Lakota
Bennett Kingsbury Pennington
Brookings Lyman Spink
Buffalo McCook Stanley
Dewey Meade Todd
Faulk Miner Tripp
Hyde Minnehaha Ziebach

Minnesota: Lincoln, Pipestone and Rock

More Resources

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

The Latest

Send press releases to

View All Events

Send press releases to

View All Events