Minnesota: 11 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas

Drought-damaged corn. Photo Phil Kaatz, Michigan State University

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 16, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Becker Clearwater Pennington Todd
Beltrami Hubbard Red Lake Wadena
Cass Kittson Stearns

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Aitkin Itasca Marshall Polk
Benton Kandiyohi Meeker Pope
Clay Koochiching Morrison Roseau
Crow Wing Lake of the Woods Norman Sherburne
Douglas Mahnomen Otter Tail Wright

North Dakota: Pembina

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

The Latest

Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

View All Events

Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

View All Events