Minnesota: 14 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

    Drought stressed corn. Photo: Texas AgriLife Extension

    This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

    Impacted Area: Minnesota

    Triggering Disaster: Drought

    Application Deadline: March 28, 2022

    Primary Counties Eligible:

    Crow Wing Koochiching Norman Roseau
    Douglas Lake of the Woods Otter Tail St. Louis
    Grant Mahnomen Pope Stevens
    Itasca Morrison

    Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

    Aitkin Cass Lake Swift
    Becker Clay Marshall Todd
    Beltrami Clearwater Mille Lacs Traverse
    Benton Kandiyohi Polk Wadena
    Big Stone Kittson Stearns Wilkin

    North Dakota: Cass and Traill
    Wisconsin: Douglas

    More Resources

    On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

    View All Events

    Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

    View All Events