Illinois: 6 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

Texas A&M AgriLife photo by Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Illinois

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Feb. 22, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Boone DeKalb Lake
Cook Kane McHenry

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:


DuPage LaSalle Ogle Winnebago
Kendall Lee Will

Indiana: Lake

Wisconsin: Kenosha, Rock and Walworth

The Latest

Send press releases to

View All Events

Send press releases to

View All Events