Florida: 2 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Hurricane Sally

    A cotton field flooded by rains from Hurricane Hanna. Photo: Danielle Sekula, Texas AgriLife Extension

    Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated two Florida counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Okaloosa and Walton counties who suffered losses caused by Hurricane Sally, high winds, excessive rains and flooding that occurred from Sept. 14 through Sept. 19, 2020, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

    This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

    Producers in the contiguous counties below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

    • Florida: Bay, Holmes, Santa Rosa and Washington
    • Alabama: Covington, Escambia and Geneva

    The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is June 30, 2021.

    FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

    Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

    View All Events

    Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

    View All Events