Kentucky: 4 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

Drought stressed corn. Photo: Texas AgriLife Extension

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated four Kentucky counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Fayette, Fleming, Jessamine, and Scott counties who suffered losses due to drought and high temperatures that have occurred since Aug. 28, 2019, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Kentucky counties of Bath, Bourbon, Clark, Franklin, Garrard, Grant, Harrison, Lewis, Madison, Mason, Mercer, Nicholas, Owen, Robertson, Rowan, and Woodford, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Oct. 5, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

The Latest

Send press releases to

View All Events

Send press releases to

View All Events