South Dakota: 2 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Floods

    Flooded mature soybeans. Photo: Angie Peltier, University of Minnesota

    Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated two South Dakota counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Hamlin and Kingsbury counties who suffered losses caused by excessive moisture and flooding that has occurred since April 10, 2019, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

    This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

    Producers in the contiguous South Dakota counties of Beadle, Brookings, Clark, Codington, Deuel, Lake, Miner, and Sanborn, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

    The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Sept. 8, 2020.

    FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

    Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    Send press releases to

    View All Events