Kansas Soybeans: Production Schools Set For January

Late evening soybean harvest. ©Debra L Ferguson

A series of six K-State Soybean Production Schools will be offered in mid- to late January 2020 to provide in-depth training for soybean producers and key stakeholders. The schools are sponsored by the Kansas Soybean Commission.

The schools are located in areas across Kansas with significant soybean acreage. Having several locations spread across the main soybean-growing regions will allow for targeted programs that are geared toward the varied production topics specific to each region.

The half-day schools will cover issues facing soybean producers in eastern and central Kansas. Each school will feature the following topics: weed control, crop production, soil fertility and nutrient management, insect control, disease management, and market outlook.

Locations and dates for the six schools are:

Jan. 13 – Monday

  • Smith Center – 9:30 am to 1:30 pm, St. Mary’s Catholic Church Parish Hall, 403 W. Highway 36. Contact: Sandra Wick, swick@ksu.edu. RSVP by Jan. 8.
  • Salina – 3:30 to 7:30 pm, Webster Conference Center, 2601 North Ohio Street. Contact: Jay Wisbey, jwisbey@ksu.edu. RSVP by Jan. 8.

Jan. 14 – Tuesday

  • Mulvane – 9:30 am to 1:30 pm, Pix Community Center, 101 E Main St. Contact: Randy Hein, rvhein@ksu.edu, or Jeff Seiler, jseiler4@ksu.edu. RSVP by Jan. 8.

Jan. 21 – Tuesday

  • Emporia – 3:30 pm to 7:30 pm, Anderson Building, Lyon County Fairgrounds, 2650 W US Hwy 50. Contact: Brian Rees, brees@ksu.edu. RSVP by Jan. 16.

Jan. 22 – Wednesday

  • Atchison, 9:30 am to 1:30 pm, Cedar Ridge Restaurant (4 miles NW of Atchison), 17028 318th Rd. Contact: Ray Ladd, cladd@ksu.edu. RSVP by Jan. 17.
  • Marysville – 3:30 to 7:30 pm, Marysville Helvering/Senior Center, 111 S 8th St. (Please use the west door). Contact: Anastasia Johnson, anastasia@ksu.edu. RSVP by Jan. 17.

Registration for each school starts 30 minutes prior to each program.

A meal will be provided, courtesy of Kansas Soybean. There is no cost to attend, but participants are asked to pre-register by the RSVP date listed above for their chosen location.

Online registration is available at K-State Soybean Schools or by emailing or calling the nearest local K-State Research and Extension office for the location participants plan to attend.

For more information, contact: Kathy Gehl, extension agronomy program coordinator, kgehl@ksu.edu, 785-532-3354; or Ignacio Ciampitti, K-State Crop Production and Cropping Systems Specialist, ciampitti@ksu.edu, 785-532-6940.




The Latest


Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

View All Events


Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

View All Events