Georgia: 19 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

Texas A&M AgriLife photo by Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 19 Georgia counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Baldwin, Burke, Butts, Jasper, Jenkins, Johnson, Lamar, Laurens, Meriwether, Monroe, Newton, Pike, Rabun, Rockdale, Screven, Spalding, Stephens, Upson, and Washington, who suffered losses due to recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Georgia counties of Banks, Bibb, Bleckley, Bulloch, Clayton, Coweta, Crawford, DeKalb, Dodge, Effingham, Emanuel, Fayette, Franklin, Glascock, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hancock, Harris, Henry, Jefferson, Jones, Morgan, Putnam, Richmond, Talbot, Taylor, Towns, Treutlen, Troup, Twiggs, Walton, Wheeler, and Wilkinson, along with Clay, Jackson, and Macon counties in North Carolina, and Aiken, Allendale, Barnwell, Hampton, and Oconee counties in South Carolina, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is June 19, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

The Secretary previously declared several other Georgia counties as primary natural disaster areas. A listing of all disaster designations can be found at

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

The Latest

Send press releases to

View All Events

Send press releases to

View All Events