Texas: 60 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas from Drought

Texas A&M AgriLife photo by Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 60 counties in Texas as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought. Those counties are:

Archer Deaf Smith Hockley Oldham
Armstrong Dickens Hutchinson Parmer
Bailey Donley Kent Potter
Baylor Floyd King Randall
Bowie Foard Knox Red River
Briscoe Garza Lamar Roberts
Carson Gray Lamb Sherman
Cass Hale Lipscomb Stonewall
Castro Hall Lubbock Swisher
Childress Hansford Lynn Terry
Cochran Hardeman Marion Titus
Collingsworth Harrison Moore Wheeler
Cottle Hartley Morris Wichita
Crosby Haskell Motley Wilbarger
Dallam Hemphill Ochiltree Yoakum

Farmers and ranchers in contiguous counties in Texas also qualify for natural disaster assistance. Those counties are:

Borden Fannin Jack Shackelford
Camp Fisher Jones Throckmorton
Clay Franklin Panola Upshur
Dawson Gaines Rusk Young
Delta Gregg Scurry  

Farmers and ranchers in contiguous counties and parishes in ArkansasLouisianaNew Mexico, and Oklahoma also qualify for natural disaster assistance. Those counties and parishes are:

     Little River and Miller


New Mexico
     Curry, Lea, Quay, Roosevelt and Union


Beaver Cimarron Harmon Roger Mills
Beckham Cotton Jackson Texas
Bryan Ellis McCurtain Tillman

Qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for the Farm Service Agency’s (FSA’s) emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties and parishes have eight months from the date of the declaration — March 8, 2018 — to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but may not require a disaster declaration, include: Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

The Latest

Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

View All Events

Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

View All Events