Missouri: 24 Counties Declared Natural Disaster Areas from Floods

Flooded soybean crop. ©Debra L Ferguson Stock Photography

In response to a request from Kimberly Viers, Farm Service Agency’s (FSA) acting State Executive Director in Missouri, the U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 24 counties in Missouri as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by excessive rainfall and flooding that occurred from April 24, 2017, through May 11, 2017. Those counties are:

Bollinger Jasper Pemiscot
Butler Jefferson Phelps
Cape Girardeau Laclede Pulaski
Crawford Madison Ripley
Dunklin Maries Ste. Genevieve
Franklin Miller St. Louis
Gasconade Montgomery Stoddard
Iron Osage Wayne

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Missouri also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

Audrain Dallas Newton Scott
Barton Dent Oregon Texas
Callaway Lawrence Perry Warren
Camden Lincoln Pike Washington
Carter Moniteau Reynolds Webster
Cole Morgan St. Charles Wright
Dade New Madrid St. Francois St. Louis City

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Arkansas, Illinois, Kansas and Tennessee also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

Clay, Craighead, Greene, Mississippi and Randolph

Alexander, Madison, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair and Union

Cherokee and Crawford

Dyer and Lake

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas on July 6, 2017, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for FSA’s emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

The Latest