California: 5 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas from Severe Storms

In response to a request from Jacqueline Johnson, Farm Service Agency’s (FSA) acting State Executive Director in California, the U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Butte, Glenn, Kern, San Joaquin and Yuba counties in California as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by severe weather including excessive rain, high winds, cold temperatures and hail that occurred from March 1, 2016, through May 7, 2016.

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in California also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

Alameda Kings Plumas Stanislaus
Amador Lake Sacramento Sutter
Calaveras Los Angeles San Bernardino Tehama
Colusa Mendocino San Luis Obispo Tulare
Contra Costa Nevada Santa Barbara Ventura
Inyo Placer Sierra  

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas on April 28, 2017, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for FSA’s emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

Latest Posts