Louisiana: 13 Parishes Qualify for Drought Disaster Relief

USDA has designated 13 parishes in Louisiana as a primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by a recent drought. Those parishes are:

Concordia LaSalle Ouachita Vernon
East Carroll Morehouse Rapides West Carroll
Grant Natchitoches Sabine Winn

“Our hearts go out to those Louisiana farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We’re also telling Louisiana producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”

Farmers and ranchers in the following parishes in Louisiana also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their parishes are contiguous. Those parishes are:

Allen Caldwell Lincoln Richland
Avoyelles Catahoula Madison Tensas
Beauregard De Soto Pointe Coupee Union
Bienville Evangeline Red River West Feliciana

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Arkansas, Mississippi and Texas also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

Ashley, Chicot and Union

Adams, Issaquena, Warren and Wilkinson

Newton, Sabine and Shelby

All parishes and counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas on Dec. 15, 2016, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible parishes have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees, and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

The Latest

Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

View All Events

Send press releases to Ernst@Agfax.com.

View All Events