Georgia Farm Bureau 78th Annual Convention, Jekyll Island, Dec. 6-8

Georgia Farm Bureau (GFB) members will travel to Jekyll Island for the organization’s 78th annual meeting December 6-8. Highlights of the convention will include speeches by Governor Nathan Deal and former Senator Saxby Chambliss on December 7.

“We’re honored to have Governor Nathan Deal and Saxby Chambliss speak to us during our general session on Monday morning. Their attendance at our convention shows they value the $72.5 billion total economic impact agriculture has on Georgia’s economy,” GFB President Zippy Duvall said.

“We also have a great lineup of speakers for our commodity conferences on Monday afternoon to discuss issues impacting the major commodities grown in Georgia.”

Convention activities begin on Sunday, December 6 at the Jekyll Island Convention Center with registration at 10 a.m. followed by a worship service at 11 a.m. that will include a memorial for county Farm Bureau presidents who died this year.

The trade show, featuring booths from many of Georgia’s agricultural organizations and agencies, will be open from noon until 4:30 p.m. The Georgia Department of Agriculture and GFB are hosting a reception from noon to 4 p.m. showcasing Georgia-grown commodities and GFB’s Certified Farm Markets.

The recipient of the 2015 Georgia Excellence in Teaching about Agriculture Educator Award will be named at 2 p.m. during the Celebrating Agricultural Literacy event, which will recognize efforts by county Farm Bureaus to educate students about agriculture through the Ag in the Classroom program.

Awards will also be presented to counties and individuals selected as state winners for various programs completed during the past year to promote agriculture. GFB will award the organization’s highest honor, the McKemie Award, to a county in each of the organization’s three membership categories for having the best overall Farm Bureau program in its respective category.

Banks, Cherokee, Coffee, Habersham, Henry, McDuffie, Madison, Newton, Walker and White counties will compete for the McKemie Award in the membership category of more than 2,151 members. Cook, Greene, Houston, Monroe, Pike, Polk, Spalding, Stephens, Toombs and Washington counties will compete for the award in the member category of 1,275 to 2,150 members.

Bacon, Crawford, Jasper, Macon, Treutlen, Turner, Upson and Wilcox counties will compete for the award in the membership category of up to 1,274 members.

On Monday, December 7, the general session begins at 8:30 a.m. and will include remarks from Governor Deal and former Senator Saxby Chambliss and GFB President Duvall’s annual address.

Commodity conferences featuring speakers who will address management and policy issues for the major commodities grown in Georgia will be held December 7 at 2 p.m. and 3:30 p.m.

On Tuesday, December 8, GFB voting delegates will discuss and approve policy resolutions submitted by county Farm Bureau chapters from across the state. The resolutions approved by the delegates will become the organization’s official policy and will guide its legislative efforts in 2016. Delegates will also elect the 2016 GFB Board of Directors.

For more information about the GFB convention, visit here.

The Latest

Send press releases to

View All Events

Send press releases to

View All Events